The Amphoralis museum


The museum of Gallo-Roman pottery in Sallèles-d’Aude is built on what used to be an industrial city.

Open since 1992, it tells the history of potters and tilers who, during three centuries, mass-produced amphorae, tiles, bricks, pipes, tableware and even oil lamps. Today, thanks to Amphoralis, this past is still alive.

Always making research, Amphoralis has been rebuilding its Gallo-Roman village as it used to be thanks to the vestiges that were unearthed. Visitors can take part in the village construction by making mud walls or even bricks. The best way to experience the life of Gallo-Roman potters is to experiment with clay.

For more information, please check the Amphoralis museum website.


The museum of the Old Sallèles-d’Aude (musée du Vieux Sallèles)


To safeguard the old local heritage, pass it down to everyone and particularly the new generations, the museum of the Old Sallèles-d’Aude, one of the most important rural museums in the region, welcomes you to discover or rediscover the tools that shaped our ancestors’ way of life in a unique refurbished ramonétage with stables, cellar and housings. Three collections are displayed:

  • ancient handicraft
  • wine and wine-making
  • everyday life.

Over 1,200 tools, machines and different items are on display. People can also see medals by the sculptor René Iché.

Practical information


Museum of the Old Sallèles-d’Aude
5 avenue Marcellin Albert
in Sallèles-d’Aude

The museum is currently closed.

Le site-musée Amphoralis


Le Musée des potiers gallo-romains de Sallèles d’Aude domine le site de ce qui fut une véritable cité industrielle.

Ouvert depuis 1992, il raconte la vie des potiers et tuiliers qui, pendant trois siècles, produisirent en masse des amphores, des tuiles, des briques, des tuyaux, de la vaisselle et des lampes à huile. Aujourd’hui, ce passé revit grâce au Site Amphoralis.

En perpétuelle recherche, le Site Amphoralis reconstruit son village gallo-romain à l’identique des vestiges retrouvés. Chaque visiteur est invité à se joindre à la construction du village en participant par exemple à la réalisation des murs de terre ou à la fabrication de briques. C’est les mains dans l’argile que chacun expérimente la vie des potiers gallo-romains !

Pour plus de renseignements, consulter le site du Musée Amphoralis


Le musée du Vieux Sallèles


Pour la sauvegarde du patrimoine local ancien, l’information de tous et plus particulièrement celle des jeunes générations, le Musée du vieux Sallèles, un des plus riches musées ruraux de la région, vous invite à découvrir ou redécouvrir les outils qui ont façonné le mode de vie de nos aïeux, dans le cadre exceptionnel d’un ancien "ramonétage" - écurie, cave et logements réhabilités - au travers de trois collections :

  • l’artisanat ancien
  • la vigne et la vinification
  • la vie au quotidien.

Plus de 1 200 outils, machines et objets divers restaurés y sont présentés. Des médailles du sculpteur René Iché sont également visibles.

Les informations pratiques


Musée du vieux Sallèles
5 avenue Marcellin Albert
à Sallèles d’Aude

Le musée est actuellement fermé.

Pour plus de renseignements : www.museeduvieuxsalleles.com